Will You…

Will You?

“Get it together

Get it right…”

These phrases sometimes echo in my head when I’m processing a tough experience, like my whitewater experience for example.

“Get it together, get it right…”

These phrases (or something like them) seem to be the underlying judgements of our present time. And sometimes it represents the voices from our past still ringing in our minds at times. I often ‘hear’ this underlying accusation beneath the written or spoken words, particularly in the news and on the internet. During unfolding discourse (or lack thereof really), on social media, in politics, from those judging politicians and total strangers, other ‘races’, to our own family members and ourselves. I feel the temptaion myself to judge, even judging someone who is judging another person! It sometimes seems to me that we are sizing one another up and we’re ready to let others know we think they need to “Get it together, get it right…”.

Have we absorbed these words more than we realized? Have we been spoon-fed their quiet poison? Do we speak them, feed them…like wood, or gasoline, to the fire, to others or ourselves. Do we sometimes say it not just in our words but also in our gestures and body language? To politicians, to social media ‘adversaries’, to those who think and live differently than us, and sometimes even to our loved ones? And maybe even most of all, do we get caught in the mindset of speaking it out over ourselves? Are we unwittingly or unknowingly judging others and ourselves by taking a particular position we have or believe in and tying it tightly to our own identity.

“Get it together, get it right…”

These societal, cultural and familial messages can drive our feelings about others and ourselves, as well as our actions and choices…if we do not stay aware.

Whose voice do you trust with your tender heart?

Is your inner voice your own or are you regurgitating a less helpful message that we need to let go of?

I ask myself these questions often the past few years as part of my growth journey.

.

.

.

Do we have the courage to contemplate, reflect and answer this questions for ourselves?

.

.

.

I believe freedom and truth dwells within our deepest and most connected selves.

It is like the seed we plant…that longs to bloom.

Will you?

“Be still,

and watch it bloom…”

Published by Kelly N

After quitting my job and selling my house and all my stuff, I did a solo car camping adventure across Western Canada in 2017-2018. I was in my early 50s. Now I am embarking on a new adventure with a major career change...after working my whole life in accounting, I am plotting a new adventure that involves going back to school! I am psyched for this new leap into the unknown! I am looking forward to sharing stories of both my adventures and my hope is to inspire you to take those leaps into the unknown you've always wanted!

3 thoughts on “Will You…

  1. I find this hard to relate to.
    My parents never burdened me with this. They had hopes rather than expectations and I think that rubbed off on me.
    I don’t think I burdened my kids with it, though when teaching them to sail …. maybe a bit.
    I would hate to have that voice going on in my head all the time. Besides, what is right? And for whom?
    Love. Peace.

    Maybe I am

    Like

    1. Hi Micheal, thanks for reading my blog and for your comment! This blog post was leading up to my next post which I just published tonight.
      There was a lot behind this heavier kind of post. This post is not just about what our family members may speak over us but it’s about society’s expectations and messages on a collective and individual level. It’s about how I see people tearing each other apart on social media, etc. People judging without really knowing other people or thinking about what it is like to be another person’s shoes. I guess it is about the pervasive judgement we all, on some level, we project onto others. Love. Peace, my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment